Valentines Day? Show your love everyday.

Valentines Day is just one day of many where you should show the ones you love just how much you mean to them.
Here, meet Joe.

1507954_10152038849793691_979800928_nSee that guy? That’s Joe (the fiance you might hear a little too much about!). He’s quite honestly, amazing. The love of my life, my best friend and my rock all rolled into one. Now, I know everyone is going to think this is the usual “OH MY GOD I LOVE HIM SO MUCH VALENTINES IS SO AMAZING!” post, but it’s not.

See, Joe and I have been together 4 years this year, living together and engaged for 3. Although we acknowledged the day with a soppy post on instagram, me bringing him breakfast in bed and him cooking dinner before he went to work, we didn’t actually do the whole presents and cards thing. Why? We didn’t feel the need. I get random bunches of flowers every now and again, and he gets random games for his Playstation if I can afford them. Neither of us have that much money at the moment, and we’re going away for a few days in just over a week, so we decided to really dedicate that time to us.

Our relationship has had some tough times since the beginning really. We were long distance for 9 months, and then we moved in together when I started uni. Not only did he have to put up with me being at uni – even when I was home – he also had to put up with never seeing me because of placement shifts. But, Joe being the person he is, supported me through the whole thing. Quite frankly, I’m not sure I would have gotten through it without his continued support. Yes, it has been tough. No, I wouldn’t change it. It’s made us who we are today. If I had chosen to go into ward nursing I know he would support me 100%, even though it would be tough on us. Luckily for both of us, though, I’m not a ward kinda nurse, I’m more into the community side of things, but that’s for another post.

I don’t need one day a year to show him how much he means to me. I like to think I show him everyday, in one way or another, that I adore him, and that I really never want to find out what it would be like without him. He’s the one thing that’s kept me going in the last few years, and I’m going to thank him for that for the rest of my life.

I guess the point I’m trying to make, is that if the one you’re with is that important to you, then don’t wait for that one day a year that the card companies use to make a tonne of money to show them, tell them every day that you love them, or even how much they mean to you. Valentines Day is great, but really, a relationship should be based on more than just what you got on this day. It should be based on the way you feel about each other everyday. It doesn’t cost anything to give them a hug, a kiss or even just sit and waste an afternoon curled up on the sofa in each others arms. Those moments are more precious than a giant teddy bear, a flashy card or a box of chocolates.

I show Joe everyday. You should show your special someone everyday too.

Happy Valentines Day.

C.x

Author: itsjustlittleoldme

C.x

5 thoughts on “Valentines Day? Show your love everyday.”

Leave a Reply

