Appreciate who, not what, you’ve got.

Remember the people in your life who are there when you lose everything else.

The world is so focused on the materialistic things in life. I’m guilty of it just as much as anyone – see my last post for example, but I am aware that the people in my life are the ones who mean more than any amount of money ever could. When was the last time you looked around and appreciated just how much love you have around you?

Your parents.

Your parents created and raised you. They love you and they want to be there for you. They want to support you through thick and thin, and ultimately, want you to be happy and healthy! I know some of you, myself included, didn’t have the amazing childhood we all see on TV, but that’s life isn’t it? I grew up with my Mum, and 2 step-dad’s. One left cause he got a new girlfriend and wasn’t interested, the other was a waste of space and has only just remembered he has four kids with my Mum. So really, I grew up with my Mum who did raise us on her own – no matter what anyone else has to say about it.

Everyday, I appreciate more and more what she’s done for all of us throughout our lives, and what she’s still doing for me even though I moved 100 miles away! Our parents are the most important people in our lives from the beginning, show them how much you love them every now and again – a simple text saying “thank you” or “I love you” could do the trick!

Some of the people I went to school with are now parents – and damn good ones at that! One girl in particular is an amazing mummy. She’s got a beautiful daughter and a beautiful son. She hasn’t had it easy though, her son has congenital heart disease (http://www.pted.org/ – easy information source) and she’s had to go through numerous surgeries, hospital trips and doctors appointments to help make him better. Not only that, but she’s doing it alone. Of course she has the support of her friends and family, but she’s the only one there 24/7 making sure her children have everything they need! I guarantee, when they’re old enough, they’ll show her how much they appreciate everything she was able to do for them. To me, she is living proof that your parents love you more than anything, and will do whatever they have to do to make sure you’re okay. If I’m even half the mother these two women are, I’ll be a happy mummy (one day – not now!)

The rest of your family.

Parents are important – but don’t forget to appreciate the importance of other members of your family. Siblings, cousins, aunties and uncles, grandparents are all important too! I’ve started to realise just how important family is in the last year. Without certain members of my family – and most of Joe’s – I’m not sure what I’d be doing right now, they’ve managed to pull me through. Family are there to support you, and they do it because there is that (mostly) unconditional love that comes with being related in some way. Never be afraid to ask your family for help.

Oh, and family isn’t always blood related. Family is anyone you feel is family.

Your friends.

Guys and girls alike, your friends should be there right in the forefront of your life. They’re the ones that you’ll need when you’re going through the hard stuff.

I’m so happy to say that I have friends who I know I can go to with any problem, and they’ll be there for me. Friends who I haven’t spoken to in weeks/months and pick up the phone, answer my text or go out to lunch with. Even friends I have online (yes, sad I know) but all of these people have made things easier to cope with – especially in the last few years.

Remember your best friend? Make time for them – they need you just as much as you need them!

Significant other.

This one could be boyfriend, girlfriend, lover, fiance, husband, wife or any other significant other you might have. Now, I know some people may not have a “significant other” but if you do, please show them you appreciate what they do. Joe has been a rock. Always has been. Yesterday I felt awful, so he made me tea, found my hot water bottle and was just generally nice and sympathetic and made me feel better just by being there. This last year he has been there and dragged me out the crap I was going through and back into reality. They’re there to help, let them, then thank them.

And finally.. yourself.

You need to appreciate yourself! At the end of the day, the above people might support you through life, but you get through it… not them! We’re all too hard on ourselves too much of the time. What happened to just being happy, and congratulating yourself on something once in a while. I’m guilty of it, I’m pretty sure we all are, but sometimes we need to step back, look at something and say “I did good” and feel better about our lives. No one can get you through your life better than you. Believe in yourself, appreciate yourself and be strong! The other people in your life are there to help, not do it for you.

I guess the point of this post is just to say that people are in your life for a reason, and we should all show appreciation to one another every now and again, just so we all know we all care about one another. If someone is in your life for the wrong reasons, cut them out. It sounds harsh but you need to look after yourself. Having people around that are only there for their own gain has no positive impact on your own life. Look out for yourself and those that look out for you, and those same people will return the favour.

Be happy, appreciate the people in your life, appreciate  yourself and we’ll get there.

C.x

Author: itsjustlittleoldme

C.x

2 thoughts on “Appreciate who, not what, you’ve got.”

  1. Thank you for following me :). I’ve just read a couple of your posts and really love them, especially this one! It’s so important to remember what we have got, not what we haven’t. But it’s so hard to live that way all the time. Thank you for the reminder 🙂 x

    Like

    1. Honestly, that’s why I wrote it. It is hard to remember that the most important part of life is who we share it with, not the things we fill life with.

      And no problem, I’m new to the blogging scene and so I’m still finding blogs to follow! And thank you for your follow 🙂 keep an eye out for more posts in the future 🙂
      C.x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

