It’s not me. It’s you.

Accepting yourself is the biggest achievement.

Acceptance.

Isn’t this something we all crave on some level? Even those of us who claim to not care about what people think of us, how people see us, even how many people see/read our posts must have some craving for acceptance on some level. Otherwise, why would we interact, follow some sort of trend – even those “alternative” ones – or even post anything online for people to read – there are many private places in which to write your thoughts/feelings/work.

Throughout your lifetime, you evolve on a daily basis. You learn new things about yourself which allow you to meet like-minded people who share some personality trait or interest, allowing you to be accepted by someone/a group of people. The hard part, is realising that you haven’t actually been accepted by this group. That you’re still on the outside.

Through being bullied myself through school, I learned to put up barriers. My self-esteem was so low that I thought if I don’t let anyone in, or pretend to be someone else then rejection won’t hurt so much – for me, rejection was inevitable. The thing is, it’s carried on. I do want to be accepted. I want to have friends and I want to feel a part of something – maybe that’s how I ended up here.

Of course, I am expecting comments in the realm of “I don’t care what people think of me”, etc, but I’m not sure I completely believe that. Is it that you don’t care, or that you won’t let yourself care?

The main thing to remember, and understand, is that you need to accept yourself. If you can’t even accept yourself for who you are, how can anyone else? We all have flaws, we’ve all made mistakes and we’ve all done things we’re not proud of or happy with. We all need to learn how to live with these and move on.

I know this isn’t easy, and for some people, including people I know and follow, this is a lot easier said than done. I know some of you need some extra support. And so I make this promise to you. If you try and accept yourself for who you are, seek support where needed and accept others for who they are and not what they make themselves out to be, then I will accept you.

I will be here if you need a chat. I will be here if you need some advice. I will be here if you need to let something off your chest without interruption. I will be here.

What makes you the unique, wonderful person you are, is you. The person inside. Not the clothes you wear, the hairstyle you have, the amount of money you have or anything else. What matters is on the inside.

Accept others. Accept yourself.

C.x

Author: itsjustlittleoldme

C.x

4 thoughts on “It’s not me. It’s you.”

  1. Thank you. I like to think I give the people reading my blog something decent to read. It’s the least i can do!
    C.x

    Like

Leave a Reply

