Why do we always want more?

It seems to me that as human beings we are always looking for something more. Not just in school or work, but within our relationships with other people. Why can’t we cherish something and give that the relationship the love it deserves? Why can’t we be happy with what we have? And, if we are unhappy, why don’t we go about things in a way that won’t hurt another person so much. 

What I am talking about I guess, is cheating. Why do we cheat? I understand that sometimes you meet someone and fall for them while you’re with someone else. I understand that you might not love the same person forever. But why do some people feel the need to hide and go behind their partners backs and pretend they don’t exist for a little while. Surely, honesty is the best policy?

Joe and I have an agreement. If either of us are unhappy in the relationship, we’ll end it rather than continuing the pain and unhappiness. If we meet someone else, we’ll leave. We won’t cheat. I’ve been cheated on, and it’s possibly the worst feeling in the world. To feel as though you’re not enough. Why do people put others through that? It can’t just be me that doesn’t understand this?

Now, I know a lot of people will say that it’s not always that simple. Sometimes cheating is the best way. I know there are other reasons and factors that lead people to make these choices, some of which may fall into the “it’s best” category, but on the whole, I just don’t see the point in it. I don’t understand it.

If you have feelings for someone else and you want to be with them instead of the person you’re with, then leave. It’s not fair on any of the people involved for it to continue in secrecy. Be happy, and be honest.

I mean, we all want to be happy and loved, right?

C.x

Author: itsjustlittleoldme

C.x

6 thoughts on “Why do we always want more?”

  1. I haven’t thought about these kinds of relationship dynamics in a very long time – and it was interesting to be thrown back into it for a moment. I was always the one who “left” a relationship – with one very painful exception…… and that was all it took. Happily married now with a child and I still get tempted…..I enjoy the “temptation” without having to act on it At All. Thanks for the honesty and the vulnerability here. And I’m glad you are blogging! Come see my ADHD effort today too… http://voiceintolearning.com/?p=3421&preview=true PW RetroWrite8826

    Like

    1. Same here… I was always left, but then I found Joe.
      Thank you for the feedback too 🙂 I have so much in my mind but I don’t feel comfortable sharing on such a public forum just yet – maybe one day!
      I’ll check your blog out when I’m back on a laptop, it’s a bit annoying on a phone.
      C.x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. My wife and I also agree that if we ever feel the need to cheat, we will part ways as friends. To me, and he, we can’t be attracted enough to want to be with someone else sexually, while we are with each other. It doesn’t mean we don’t have attractions and fantasies, but our desire to be with just each other overrides that. I understand that is not for everyone, but that is how it works for us.

    Like

  3. Cheating is NEVER the best way, not under any circumstance. I’m sorry you had to go through that in your past. And the agreement you’ve made with your partner, that’s the smart thing to do. When I’ve found my significant other, I’ll tell him the same, because prolonging an unhappy relationship only results in more agonizing pain. I’m talking from experience 🙂

    Like

    1. It’s a conversation worth having I think. I’d rather be hurt knowing he’d found someone and left than knowing he’d gone behind my back.
      C.x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

