Exactly what I need.

In the previous week things have gone shooting up. Joe started his new job, I started applying for new jobs and we’re finally spending some well deserved quality time together (even if it is at a football match or us just sat in bed with me blogging and him on his phone). Believe me, I don’t remember the last time we spent some proper time together without worrying he’s going to be called into work or when we haven’t had to purposely book the time off. It’s just ours.

I mean, it’s not like we’re doing anything special, in about 10 minutes we’re going to cuddle up on the sofa to watch Britain’s got Talent and then curling up in bed ready for what tomorrow will bring – a shopping day out and possibly something extra if we manage to pull it off. We don’t need to do anything special, we just need to be together. That’s all I want. That’s all we need.

For the past few years it’s been difficult during times when I was on placement and he was working whenever I was off. It resulted in too many arguments, too many tears and too many sleepless nights. But now, now it’s like a weight has been lifted off the shoulders of our relationship. It feels as though we’re really getting somewhere!

We celebrate our fourth anniversary together in a couple of weeks – be warned, a soppy post about how amazing he is might make an appearance! – and for the first time we’re in a place where we can really think about the future. Think about where we want to live, when we want to get married, when we want to start a family. For the first time in a long time, I feel as though we can actually plan ahead for the future instead of having to just live day to day.

The future starts here and now. We both have things to focus on ourselves and things to focus on together. It’s time we made the most of our relationship and realise what we have together. Not many people can say that they’re planning their life with their best friend, but I have the privilege of being able to say this.

One day, in the not too distant future I’ll be in a little flat, working in a role that I love and coming home to the person I couldn’t and wouldn’t want to be without. Sometimes I think I need to focus on that a little more.

C.x

Author: itsjustlittleoldme

C.x

Leave a Reply

