Drifting.

Drifting away may be natural, but that doesn’t mean it doesn’t suck.

I’ve been thinking about this post all day. We all know what it’s like to drift away from someone you used to be close to, but recently, it’s been playing on my mind a lot more than usual.

I’m due to go back to uni in a couple of days, and after only six months after finishing my previous course and I’ve already lost touch with a few of the girls I studied with.

I guess it’s just been making me think about the people I went to school with. A lot of them I was pretty close to, and some of the friends I made outside of school I was even closer to. I’m lucky if I speak to maybe 3 of them nowadays. Some of the people I’m just as guilty for losing contact with, but some I tried and tried but got nothing back. Eventually, I just gave up.

In the last few weeks, I’ve found that one of my “friends” who moved abroad a few years ago was back in the country for a bit. He didn’t even tell me and didn’t respond to the message I sent him either. It really, really upset me. And today, I found some old photos from when I was at school. It was both amazing and not all at the same time. It’s made me miss the friends I had before.

Joe’s the same. This morning he got a message from a girl he went to school with asking if she was really that easy to forget. The message came after Joe had run into her parents and just mentioned that he hasn’t really stayed in touch with anyone from school. It’s upset and annoyed him really, she never made any effort either and has only ever mentioned anything when she wanted something or when she heard something. Never to just check in.

We’re both in the same boat, and I know that a lot of other people, if not everyone who’s been out of school for a few years, are in the same boat as us.

We all make promises when we leave school to keep in touch and meet up whenever we can. It’s not that we don’t mean the promises when we make them, we do. It’s just that as we grow up and move away, we grow in different ways, move on with our lives and just naturally drift apart.

It’s not that I don’t love the life I have now, especially with Joe, but I miss the amazing people that got me through so many hard and tough times throughout school. It’s just times like now that I really miss the old times.

Growing up sucks, sometimes.

C.x

Author: itsjustlittleoldme

C.x

Leave a Reply

