Happy New Year.

I don’t normally buy into the “new year new me” thing, because it’s wrong. You don’t just change overnight, it takes time. Instead, I’m going to focus on what I’ve learned in 2015 to carry forward.

Don’t take those you love for granted. When I lost my Nanny I didn’t know what to do, so when I lost my Granddad in September I was heartbroken. I took them for granted my entire life and there’s nothing I regret more. In 2016, I’m going to make sure I make more time for those I love, visit home more and make sure those I love know I love them. Now I’ve got the most beautiful little niece to dote on, and a nephew coming in March and I can’t wait to be the best auntie I can be.

Life gets hard, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t worth it. Passing my degree was hard, dealing with grief was hard, moving out and going it by ourselves was hard, going back to uni was hard. But it didn’t matter how hard it got, every second was worth it.

Money isn’t everything. Since we moved out, everyone has been asking us if we’re okay for money. I mean, I appreciate everyone asking, checking we’re not struggling, I just wish they’d ask if we were doing well ourselves. Getting on with living on our own.

I know it doesn’t sound like much, but my main lessons learned is that love can conquer everything. It doesn’t matter how low you feel or how hard things get, if you’re surrounded by the people you love then they can get you through it. It’s time for me to be there for everyone I love.

2015 has been a great year for me aside from losing my Granddad, but I’m taking important lessons through into the new year.

Wherever you are tonight, whatever you’re doing, I ask two things of you. 1. Make sure those who you love know you love them. And 2. Stay safe.

See you all in the new year!

C.x

Author: itsjustlittleoldme

C.x

Leave a Reply

